Radiology Guides Anatomy Physio & Path Medicine Physics Contact



1. Medial boundary - lateral surface of the lateral pterygoid plate. Behind it are the tensor tympani + levator palati + superior constrictor. Anterior to the lateral pterygoid plate is the pterygomaxillary fissure (communication with the pterygopalatine fossa).

2. Lateral wall - ramus of mandible + coronoid process.

3. Anterior wall - posterior (infratemporal) surface of the maxilla, which contains the alveolar foramina. At the upper margin of this wall is the inferior orbital fissure.

4. Roof - formed medially by the infratemporal surface of the greater wing of the sphenoid + adjacent squamous part of the temporal bone. The infratemporal surface is bounded laterally by the infratemporal crest, communicates with the temporal fossa past this crest.

5. Posterior boundary - formed by the carotid sheath.


1. Mcminn. (2003). Last's Anatomy. Elsevier Australia. ISBN:0729537528. Read it at Google Books - Find it at Amazon
2. Netter, F. H. (2019). Atlas of human anatomy. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier.
3. Image: no reference available.

Ⓒ A. Manickam 2018

+ Home